Sagada: Things I regret the most (tips and tricks)

I am quite obsessive when it comes to planning because I don’t like the feeling of being helpless. I read as much as I can online so that I know what to expect so I guess you can say that I was pretty prepared. Still, there are things I missed and I will post them here hoping that when you go there, you will not make the same mistakes and have a perfect vacation (if there is such a thing). There will be more posts on tips and tricks and perhaps a directory so that people can find what they need easily but let’s take things slowly.

5 – take a goddamn landscape shot.

I have many excuses for not taking that shot. It was late afternoon when we got there and the sunlight only touched the top part of the falls. There were also many bystanders and I did not want to be one of those pricks who would actually ask people to get out of my camera’s field of vision. Third, I am no landscape photographer so I thought maybe I better leave that to those who chose that as their field. And of course I was taking in the scenery and having fun with my friends. We had less than an hour to spare because we had to trek back which was no easy task so I simply had no time. If you don’t want to regret like I did, plan and take action and get that shot. It does not have to be perfect but take it anyway.

4 – have little indulgences

I am actually surprised that I didn’t have no tricks up my sleeve. I usually think of some special drink at night or having an indulgent cup before watching the sunrise but this time, everything else flew out the window. I even left my tumbler back home (something that I often have with me)! I was thinking how it would have been like if I had hard liquor against the cold when we were in the caves. Even a simple cup of tea would have been so satisfying after a dip at Bomod-ok falls. It was good that Elaine gave Benj a Cadburry bar or else, we also did not have something sweet before we went to bed. If you want to take it a notch higher, we could have brought coffee and hotdogs with marshmallows at Kiltepan. Now why did I not think of that. Instead we were bored, cold and with growling stomachs.

3 – make the trip longer

When we got there we did trekking to Bomod-ok falls. The next day we went around to see the hanging coffins, church, underground river and Sagada Weaving. On our third day, we just ate breakfast before we went to the caves. On the fourth and last day we went to Kiltepan and Orange Orchard before heading back. It sure was a hectic vacation! while I enjoyed every minute of it, it need not be that exhausting. Getting there just takes too long so it’d eat up a huge chunk of your vacation leaves. Still, Sagada is worth it.

2 – take your DSLR everywhere

My bag is always heavy with my 3-year old DSLR and random camera accessories whenever I go somewhere yet when we went to Lumiang and Sumaguing, I decided it’s too risky and it might be better to just depend on my new Pentax. I felt bad every time I was sure I would have managed even if I brought it with me to the caves. It’s just that all accounts online recommended to leave bulky cameras behind. I think I would have some difficulty because of the added weight and having to put it in my bag and bring it out again every time but I think it was something fairly feasible. I felt cheated whenever I look at the photos that I took in the caves. And I especially got really pissed when the guides said they can carry bags and other things that we did not want to get wet. It was my main consideration why I decided to leave my camera behind. Anyway, I decided to do it again but who knows when. I say bring a DSLR and document the firsts the best way you can and suffer carrying it. You’ll live.

1pack meals / pack snacks / pack food!

The trip going to Sagada is more or less 13 hours in all. The tour to Bomod-ok falls took about 4 1/2 hours. The Lumiang and Sumaguing cave connection tour took about 5 1/2 hours. The walking tour took about 3 hours. The trip to Kiltepan and Orange Orchard took about 3 hours. The trip to Baguio is about 6 hours and the trip from Baguio to Manila is another 6 hours. Now why would I go out of my way accounting all these, it is to convince you that you should never take packed lunch for granted.

There are stopovers yes but not all would offer food. Those that do will have the typical siomai, siopao, hotdog stall or those that you can find in convenience stores such as cup noodles, chips and cookies. I did see a cafeteria where you have to fall in line and eat very fast while digesting the thought of your bus leaving you. So I say bring packed lunch. Bring something hearty so that you won’t feel bloated with junk food in the long trip. Believe me, it is a long trip.

For trekking, most would advise energy bars (that I actually listened to). I wouldn’t though if I were you because if you are hungry you should bring something that would appease you. Will you actually be happy with a granola bar? Didn’t think so. Think simple, scrumptious and nutritious. Simple, meaning it’s easy to pack and easy to eat. Scrumptious, meaning it’s tasty and filling. Nutritious, meaning refreshing and food that will actually help you in your trek. Aim for hearty sandwiches, fruits, beef jerky and some healthy dessert such as muffins, peanut butter and etc. Oh I don’t even wanna start thinking about what would have happened if I did some serious food packing!

Don’t listen to me. Just enjoy every minute of it.

Aloha!

One thought on “Sagada: Things I regret the most (tips and tricks)

  1. Thank you for all the info you’ve shared on your trip to Sagada. You post have answered most of the most important stuff I’ve been searching for. 🙂

Leave a comment